Biergartening

Last weekend we ventured to a large park area with a biergarten.

When the sun is out,  it’s kind of a must to get outside when this happens (it can be a serious balmy and depressing hue of grey intermixed with sunshine even in the summer which drives me crazy). Do I like beer? No, I much prefer wine…but they seem to generally have a decent dry white wine at most places at least, so I can handle it.

Image

Making our way by bike I realized how many people on bikes here young and old, use this as a definite means of transport and so some are not taking a leisurely ride. They are cruising at a fast speed.  You have to be really aware of this, and make sure to get out of the way when necessary.I’m not much of a beer drinker but I do like wine,  and they always seem to have a dry white wine to my liking.  The almost inconceivable picturesque green in these parks. when the sun is out is amazing. Couple this with a good sparkling beverage and you’re set.

I discovered the Germans version of a white wine spritzer accidentally when ordering with my bad Deutsch accent and was delivered a Weiss wein Schorle. Since I don’t really drink beer, these biergartens had previously annoyed me. I now had discovered a way to fit in, Weiss wein Schorles. Perfect.

Eating is a big deal here, which is a good thing since my world has always revolved around food.  I like that you can generally always count on at least some kind of tasty tidbits to nosh on when you go out to a bar, be it Pommes Frites, Currywurst, and bread.  This time I chose the currywurst and was not displeased. One of the best I’ve had here so far.

Image

2 Schorles later, back on bikes ( much more relaxed)  as we headed home towards the setting sun…not the Tuscan sun, but it will do for now.

Leave a comment